Thursday, April 17, 2008

Nine For Nine

The nine Oakland A's victories so far this year (they're currently 9-7 for the year and trailing 6-1 against the Mariners in the 6th inning) have been by nine different pitchers (Rich Harden, Justin Duchscherer, Dana Eveland, Alan Embree, Fernando Hernandez, Joey Devine, Joe Blanton, Lenny DiNardo, and Greg Smith).

If the A's next win is by someone other than these nine guys, they'll tie the ML record of 10 with two teams: the 1973 Chicago Cubs (Bob Locker, Jack Aker, Rick Reuschel, Bill Bonham, Fergie Jenkins, Ray Burris, Burt Hooton, Bill Virdon, Larry Gura, Milt Pappas) and the 1992 California Angels (Don Robinson, Mark Langston, Jim Abbott, Joe Grahe, Chuck Crim, Scott Lewis, Steve Frey, Julio Valera, Scott Bailes, Chuck Finley ).

A's pitchers who don't have a win yet are Santiago Casilla, Keith Foulke, Huston Street, Chad Gaudin, and Kirk Saarlos (who's currently on the mound). and If they come back tonight, the winner will surely come from that pool of five.

The A's have just given up two more runs, so they're now down 8-1, and I'm turning the TV channel back to the Sharks game. They're up 2-1 in the third period, and tied 2-2 in the series against Calgary. I'll be back after the hockey game is over.

No comments: